Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

EventsEnd of the Line: The Women of Standing Rock – Screening and Panel Discussion

Wednesday, November 3 @ 8:00 pm

| Free

Date: November 3, 2021

Time: 5 pm PT, 6 pm MT, 7 pm CT, 8 pm ET, 9 pm AT

Location: Zoom

Registrationhttps://form.jotform.com/212925691828264

 

Description: Join us for a film screening of End of the Line: The Women of Standing Rock followed by a panel discussion with Indigenous women, a practitioner and activist of water protection and a water protector who attended the protests at Standing Rock.

 

End of the Line follows a group of Indigenous women risking their lives to stop the Dakota Access oil pipeline. The construction project desecrated their ancient burial and prayer sites and threatened their land, water, and very existence. In the process, they face the personal costs of leadership, as their own lives and identities are transformed by one of the great political and cultural events of the early 21st century.

 

This event takes place during the COP26 UN Conference on Climate Change as a way to learn more about climate justice. Presented by the United Church of Canada’s Chinook Winds Region Indigenous Ministry, Urban Indigenous Circle, For The Love of CreationCalgary Climate HubGreen Exodus and Hillhurst United Church’s Right Relations Group.

A Zoom link will be sent to you after registration.


Comments are closed.