Additional measures to address COVID-19 Omicron variant of concern (December 1, 2021) Hello,

The purpose of this communication is to share with you an update announced <u>November 30, 2021, by the Public Health Agency of Canada</u> regarding additional requirements for travellers entering Canada to address the COVID-19 Omicron variant. Effective December 1, 2021, foreign nationals who have been in Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, or Zimbabwe within the previous 14 days will not be permitted entry into Canada.

In the coming days, all travellers, including Temporary Foreign Workers, arriving by air from departure points other than the United States will be subject to arrival testing and required to quarantine while they await the results of their arrival test. Travellers who are not fully vaccinated will be required to stay in a designated quarantine facility or other suitable location while they await the result of their on arrival test. Travellers who are not fully vaccinated will continue to be tested on day 8 and quarantine for 14 days.

These new travel restrictions continue to evolve, and our commitment is to share more information on how these new requirements will affect Temporary Foreign Workers travelling to and within Canada as soon as it becomes available.

For more information on travel, testing and border measures, please visit <u>COVID-19 vaccinated</u> travellers entering Canada - Travel restrictions in Canada - Travel.gc.ca

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to email NC-TFW-TET-GD@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Regards,

The Temporary Foreign Worker Program

**Employment and Social Development Canada**